If you want to allow your clients to login and make changes to their own site, you need to add them as a Site Owner for their website. Doing so will allow to them make changes to their individual website on their own. You can limit the changes they can make by assigning User Permissions.
Step 1 - Select “Site Details” next to the client's business/website name from the Manage Sites screen.
Step 2 - In the "Manage Site Owner Access" section, click "Add Site Owner".
Step 3 - You can then enter the email address and create a password for your client. They will now be able to access their site by clicking "Login" on the bottom right of their own website. Be sure to provide your client with the login details including the password you created. Click "Save" when complete.
Controlling User Permissions for Site Owners
Step 1 - If you want to limit access to what your clients can do to their website, you can assign User Permissions. Select “Site Details” next to the client's business/website name from the Manage Sites screen.
Step 2 - Click “Edit” in the Site Details window.
Step 3 - Modify the permissions from the “User Permissions” window.
- When you add a site owner, your client can access their individual site and make changes to their content and control access the Layout, Design, Pages, Settings and Stats Tabs.
- You will notice that “Can Manage Site Design” is unchecked by default, and is the recommended setting for business owners. If you choose to check this option, then your clients will be able to access both the "Layout" and “Design” tabs of their site. With access to these tabs, they can potentially delete or alter the design you created for them, which are changes that cannot be undone. Leaving this option unchecked keeps you in control of the overall site design.
- You will notice that "Can Manage Site Pages" is checked by default, and is the recommended setting for business owners who want to add additional pages on their own to their website. If you choose to uncheck this option, then your clients will not be able to see the "Pages" tab of their site. You may choose to restrict access if you want to limit your clients to a certain number of pages on their site. Without access to the Pages tab, the client cannot add new pages, remove existing pages, or rename pages.
- You will notice that "Can access HTML post" is unchecked by default. If you choose to check this option, then you client will be able to access the HTML Post feature. Access is only recommended for clients who have experience embedding code. Improperly embedding HTML code or placing bad code on a website may prevent the site or certain features to work properly.